Former Australian umpire Simon Taufel has shared his verdict to settle the never-ending debate about the dead-ball controversy after India’s thrilling win over Pakistan at the ICC World T20 2022.
Sharing his views on social media, former umpire Taufel revealed he was asked about one of the match-altering deliveries in which Kohli managed to sneak three runs after being bowled on a free hit.
“After the exciting climax to the India vs Pakistan match at the MCG last night, l’ve been asked by many to explain the Byes that India scored after Kohli was bowled off the free hit,” Taufel wrote.
Giving his verdict on the dead-ball controversy, the former Australian umpire shared ICC’s playing condition and further explained why match umpires made the ‘right decision’. “The umpire made the right decision in signalling Byes after the batters ran three following the ball hitting the stumps and rolling down to 3rd man. For a free hit, the striker cannot be out bowled and therefore the ball is NOT dead on hitting the stumps – the ball is still in play and all conditions under the Laws for Byes are satisfied,” he added.